Comedy and Humour List


I really enjoy books that are principally comedy and humour fantasy.  I read to take me to other places and while there to have either a side splitting laugh or quiet giggle.  Hard to read these on a plane as everyone wonders where you are at!

The Wee Free Men

I am sure I got plenty of fun from some childhood fairy tales such as the Emperor’s New Clothes and Doctor Doolittle.  However my first recollection of an outrageously funny book was The Sword in the Stone part of The Once and Future King books by TH White.

I had to take numerous laugh breaks (somewhat like watching a Marx Brothers movie).  Oh boy did my sides ache.  When I  talked about it to adult friends of my parents I found that they too had laughed themselves silly.  I am going to read this again now, many years later and I hope I have the same reaction as the world seems to slowly losing its fun aspects.

Once again some of these books listed have gone out of publication much to our loss.  I have found  that Alan Dean Foster’s Spellsinger series is back in print and that is a really good read.  Alan is one of the A bad spell in yurtmost versatile writers around.  One series that I haven’t included in my list of comic stuff is the Flinx and Pip one.  There certainly is some element of fun in them as per the last book where the excitement ends.  And the last thought running through Flinx’s mind is life was now boring!   It would be wonderful if Flinx and Pip came out of their retirement boredom.

As or if I remember other good books I will add them as time progresses.  If I add the total of the juvenile books I have read to the comic fantasy then I am averaging almost 3 per year.  And that’s only the ones I can immediately remember.  It doesn’t sound like much yet but I am far from finished with the listing of fantasy and science fiction books I have read.  (Plus I have actually read tonnes of other types of books.)

As recommendations are made by friends and acquaintances from far and near, or I find books I haven’t read (and there are many) this list will grow.  In fact a second list will be compiled before the tables become too big.

Books marked with one asterisk (*) have other fantasy types within  them and those that have restricted availability in book form or  fallen out of favour and publication are marked with two asterisks (**).  If any are  published under different titles they are marked with three asterisks (***).

Many of the books by authors are available on eReaders.

CalahanComic fantasy has now been included in my Labyrinth Tree of Fantasy and so the tree starts to grow.

And now let’s lift our glasses and salute the very funny side of comic fantasy and alien friends and other assorted animals.





Book Title Author Year Published
Alice in Wonderland * Lewis Carroll 1865
Through the Looking-Glass * Lewis Carroll 1871
The Sword in the Stone – The Once and Future King * TH White 1938
A Spell for Chameleon Piers Anthony 1976
Callahan’s Crazy Crosstime Bar Spider Robinson 1977
The Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Douglas Adams 1979
The Source of Magic Piers Anthony 1979
Castle Roogna Piers Anthony 1979
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe Douglas Adams 1980
The Belgariad: Book 1 Pawn of Prophecy David Eddings 1982
The Belgariad: Book 2 Queen of Sorcery David Eddings 1982
Centaur Aisle Piers Anthony 1982
Ogre, Ogre Piers Anthony 1982
Life, the Universe and Everything Douglas Adams 1982
The Belgariad: Book 3 Magician’s Gambit David Eddings 1983
Night Mare Piers Anthony 1983
Dragon on a Pedestal Piers Anthony 1983
The Color of Magic Terry Pratchett 1983
Spellsinger Alan Dean Foster 1983
The Belgariad: Book 4 Castle of Wizardry David Eddings 1984
The Belgariad: Book 5 Enchanter’s End Game David Eddings 1984
So Long, and Thanks for all The Fish Douglas Adams 1984
The Practice Effect David Brin 1984
Spellsinger 2: The Hour of the Gate Alan Dean Foster 1984
Spellsinger 3: The Day of the Dissonance Alan Dean Foster 1984
Spellsinger 4:  The Moment of the Magician Alan Dean Foster 1984
Spellsinger 5:  Paths of the Perambulator Alan Dean Foster 1985
Crewel Lye Piers Anthony 1985
Golem in the Gears Piers Anthony 1986
Spellsinger 6:  The Time of the Transference Alan Dean Foster 1986
Magic Kingdom For Sale – Sold Terry Brooks 1986
The Light Fantastic Terry Pratchett 1986
Equal Rites Terry Pratchett 1987
The Black Unicorn Terry Brooks 1987
Mort Terry Pratchett 1987
Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency Douglas Adams 1987
The Malloreon: Book 1 Guardians of the West David Eddings 1987
Vale of the Vole Piers Anthony 1987
Heaven Cent Piers Anthony 1988
Sourcery Terry Pratchett 1988
Wyrd Sisters Terry Pratchett 1988
The Malloreon: Book 2 Kings of the Murgos David Eddings 1988
The Malloreon: Book 3 Demon Lord of Karanda David Eddings 1988
Wizard at Large Terry Brooks 1988
Pyramids Terry Pratchett 1989
Guards! Guards! Terry Pratchett 1989
Man from Mundania Piers Anthony 1989
The Elenium: Book 1 The Diamond Throne David Eddings 1989
The Malloreon: Book 4 Sorceress of Darshiva David Eddings 1989
Moving Pictures Terry Pratchett 1990
The Elenium: Book 2 The Ruby Knight David Eddings 1990
The Elenium: Book 3 The Sapphire Rose David Eddings 1991
The Malloreon: Book 5 The Seeress of Kell David Eddings 1991
A Bad Spell in Yurt C Dale Brittain 1991
Mostly Harmless Douglas Adams 1992
The Tamuli: Book 1 Domes of Fire David Eddings 1992
Here comes the Sun Tom Holt 1993
The Tamuli: Book 2 The Shining Ones David Eddings 1993
The Wood Nymph and the Cranky Saint C Dale Brittain 1993
Spellsinger:  Son of Spellsinger Alan Dean Foster 1993
Spellsinger Adventure: Chorus Skating Alan Dean Foster 1994
The Tamuli: Book 3 The Hidden City David Eddings 1994
The Tangle Box Terry Brooks 1994
Odds and Gods Tom Holt 1995
Witches’ Brew Terry Brooks 1995
Belgarath The Sorcerer David & Leigh Eddings 1995
Hogfather Terry Pratchett 1996
Polgara The Sorceress David & Leigh Eddings 1997
The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul Douglas Adams 1998
Summon the Keeper Tanya Huff 1998
Carpe Jugulum Terry Pratchett 1998
The Fifth Elephant Terry Pratchett 1999
The Redemption of Althalus David & Leigh Eddings 2000
The Second Summoning Tanya Huff 2001
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents Terry Pratchett 2001
Night Watch Terry Pratchett 2002
The Salmon of Doubt Douglas Adams 2002
Long Hot Summoning Tanya Huff 2003
The Wee Free Men Terry Pratchett 2003
The Elder Gods David & Leigh Eddings 2003
The Treasured One David & Leigh Eddings 2004
Lost and Found Alan Dean Foster 2004
Going Postal Terry Pratchett 2004
Smoke an Shadows Tanya Huff 2004
Smoke and Mirrors Tanya Huff 2005
The Light-Years Beneath My Feet Alan Dean Foster 2005
The Candle of Distant Earth Alan Dean Foster 2005
Crystal Gorge David & Leigh Eddings 2005
The Younger Gods David & Leigh Eddings 2006
Good Omens Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman 2006
Smoke and Ashes Tanya Huff 2006
A Princess of Landover Terry Brooks 2009
93 The Enchantment Emporium Tanya Huff 2009

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *